top of page

Changing to an Organic Lifestyle

My first blog entry is about having a healthy lifestyle through eating. Nothing beats fresh organic food especially grown locally. After learning about Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs), roundup in food supplies, and all the harsh pesticides and herbicides used on food I was scared for my health and well being. Especially after learning about all the harmful effects that chemicals had on the body. Paying more for organic food is not the most affordable, thus my father and I grow as much of our own food as possible.

No longer living in the dark, I decided to change the way I lived. I am starting an organic aquaponic farm with my father using Friendly Aquaponics information and training, available at https://www.friendlyaquaponics.com/organic-certification/. We will be growing vegetables and fish together. Therefore, the ammonia produced from the fish makes the plants grow quicker and can yield up to twice as much at harvest in a shorter duration than regular conventional farming. The farming will occur in a greenhouse and field located in Lansing, North Carolina depending on the crop variety.

My job other than working on the farm is to market our business, boost our reputation, and image. I am excited to say that the greenhouse will be built by the fall of 2017. Allowing us to be able to grow in all seasons and supply local businesses with fresh food when the market is slim and most restaurants buy from other states or countries. The farther the food has to travel the less nutrients it provides when being ate, there is sometimes bruising or damage, and it is more expensive at a wholesale and retail price due to more fossil fuels being used. Having the ability to pick vegetables from the farm and deliver them to customers in an hour to two hour radius cuts down on the emissions from fossil fuels and allows customers to enjoy food that stays fresher longer.

Take a moment to think about what you are eating and where it comes from.


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page