top of page

Growing Mushrooms

First, having a central goal of being a farm that uses sustainable practices I fully believe in the three r's: reduce, reuse, and recycle. Connecting with other members in the local community through social media and wanting to reuse other peoples waste are two additional goals that are increasingly important to me. I was on Facebook a few weeks ago and happened upon a post from Ansel Ringler that mentioned having an abundant amount of dust from his business Estatoe Woodworks.

Yesterday, I was contacted by Ansel notifying me that he had hard wood dust available, when I would be available to pick up the bags, and help with collecting dust from around his shop. Feeling giddy as if my prayers had been answered I responded promptly that I could stop by the next day if his schedule permitted. I am grateful for the connections in the local community that have been made and keeping in contact with those individuals on social media platforms. The connection with Estatoe Woodworks helps Ansel clean up his shop while providing a substrate for the mushrooms to grow at Crawford Family Farms. I am going to be researching and contacting other businesses around the local community for other possible means of substrate and compost for the farm. I hope to decrease the amount of materials sent to landfills while providing food to the local area. Reduce, reuse & recycle.


Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page